Review of The French Stall

Went to The French Stall in Serangoon for NUS Francophile’s get together dinner.

To get to The French Stall, take the MRT to Farrer Park. Go the the exit nearest Mustafa Centre. But walk away from Mustafa. It’ll take around five minutes walking. Then you will see a very funny sight

It was around 6.30pm when we got there. There was no other customers. We chose a table inside. The menu is in both French and English.

The set meal is priced at $15.80, very reasonable considering it’ll be double at a restaurant. You can upgrade your starter or dessert. I chose French onion soup and dark chocolate cake instead of soup of the day and the traditional creme caramel. (I shall try both of these when I return)

Waiting time was short because we were the first customers. The French onion soup was delightful. I thought the things sprinkled on the bread in my soup was garlic but was very delighted when I realised it was cheese. Very yummy

french onion soup

french onion soup

J’s soup of the day: cream of broccoli

soup du jour

F’s snail and chicken liver
escargotchicken liver
snails were very chewy, a bit like oysters. Chicken liver had a cold feeling. I prefer chicken liver in Chinese soups.

Our main dishes came seoon after we polished our starters. I ordered chicken because I absolutely LOVE chicken!

chicken

My chicken has a thin layer of potatoes underneath, making it more filling than it seems.

J’s dory has a potato-banana layer instead. (BTW, J loves fish as much as I do chicken)

DSCN8938

Last came desserts. J’aime les desserts

from top, then left to right

souffle, dark chocolate cake, tiramisu (very good as is cold)

The bill came to be around $27 because of my iced lemon tea and upgrades.

We finished at 7.30pm. By then, there were a lot of other customers. I saw the beef fondue and it’s actually just a steamboat with beef.

Here are photos of the place

the french stall the french stallthe french stall
the french stall
the french stall

Leave a Reply

